Goals galore as Murrayfield Racers retain the Stuart Robertson Cup

Murrayfield Racers retained the Stuart Robertson Cup (SRC) after recording a 14-6 aggregate victory against Dundee Comets over the weekend.

The Racers started Saturday’s first leg on the front foot, but only had Joel Gautschi’s eighth minute goal to show for their efforts.

The Comets came out flying in the second session and were rewarded as Patriks Grigors made it 1-1 with just 59 seconds of the period played.

However, Murrayfield were soon back in the ascendency and went back in front after 25 minutes through Sean Donaldson.

Michael Ireland added a third in the 32nd minute to put the Racers 3-1 ahead by the second break.

Archie Holmes extended Murrayfield’s advantage in the 51st minute, before Jonathan McBean gave the Comets renewed hope with a goal five minutes from time.

The Racers went into Sunday’s reverse fixture with a 4-2 lead and soon extended their advantage as Gautschi (2) and Rihards Grigors hit the target.

Rob Brown pulled one back for the Comets in the 11th minute, before John Dolan sparked further hopes of a comeback with a goal early in the second period.

That effort was short-lived as Ross Borwick, Callum Boyd and Liam Danskin put the home side six goals in front overall by the second buzzer.

Goals by Ben Edmonds and Dolan again closed the gap to four early in the final period, but the Racers pulled away in the final stages as Gautschi (2), Holmes and Steven Clark secured a 10-4 victory on the night.

The Racers are in action twice over the festive period, hosting Kilmarnock Thunder in the Scottish Cup next Sunday (face-off 6.00pm) and the Comets in the Scottish National League on New Years’ Eve (face-off 5.00pm).

Please click here to purchase tickets.

(Image permission: Racers Media)